Home News More Cabinet reshuffle looms as CS Keter is thrown to Devolution

More Cabinet reshuffle looms as CS Keter is thrown to Devolution


Energy Cabinet Secretary Charles Keter has been moved to the Devolution Ministry in a cabinet reshuffle that affected his two other colleagues.

In changes effected by State house on Wednesday, the Ministry of devolution was also scaled down with the state department for asals domiciled there moved to the Public Service and Gender Ministry.

Keter’s position at the Energy Ministry was assigned to Defence Cabinet Secretary Dr Monica Juma who was moved from the department of defence she took charge in January 2020 after a similar reshuffle in which she switched her Foreign affairs docket with Rachelle Omamo.

Eugene Wamalwa will take charge in the  Defense Ministry.

Keter’s exit from the Energy docket came hours after President Uhuru Kenyatta received a report submitted by a Presidential taskforce on review of power purchase agreements he appointed in March, which recommended wide-ranging reforms to bring down the cost of electricity.

“The consequence of the proposed interventions is that a consumer who previously spent 500 shillings per month on electricity shall by december 31, 2021 pay 330 shillings a month,” a statement released by the president’s press office read.

“This cost reduction will be achieved through the reduction of the consumer tariffs from an average of 24 shillings per kilowatt hour to 16 shillings per kilowatt hour,”

The taskforce chaired by John Ngumi, chairperson of the board of directors of the Kenya Pipeline Company, also recommended the cancellation of all unconcluded power purchase agreement.

The Kenya Power Company will be required to take a leading role in the formulation of power purchase agreements with independent power producers in future under a new framework proposed by the taskforce

Kenya Power is also expected to undertake a forensic audit on procurement and system losses resulting from heavy fuel oils and list beneficial owners of independent power producers in its annual report.