Home News Politics Changamwe MP Omar Mwinyi retains seat, opponents concedes defeat

Changamwe MP Omar Mwinyi retains seat, opponents concedes defeat

[Changamwe MP Omar Mwinyi. Photo/Ahmed Omar].

A two-term Changamwe Constituency Member of Parliament in Mombasa, Omar Mwinyi has retained his seat.

Mwinyi will lead Changamwe residents for a third term until 2027.

This is after he floored his 12 other opponents in the hotly contested seat during this weeks, Tuesday, August, 9, general elections.

Mwinyi garnered a total of 25, 077, with his close opponent Abdi Daib, who was vying for the seat for a second time on a Jubilee party ticket managed 5, 789 votes.

The MP promised to serve the Changamwe community indiscriminately.

Former Mombasa County youth, gender and sports Executive Member Kevin Munywoki Kyalo, managed 4,040 clinching the third position.


Changamwe had a total of 93,561 voters however, only 43, 594 participated in this years’ general election.

While conceding defeat on Friday morning, My Kyalo who was vying for the Changamwe MP position on a Wiper ticket promised to work with Mwinyi, clearly stating that he holds no political grudges with anyone.

“We are grateful that the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission has played its vital exercise, it was just and transparent, there is always another time,” noted Kyalo.

While announcing the official results at the St. Mary’s Catholic Church main tallying centre in Changamwe on Thursday night, IEBC returning officer Charo Kalume Charo, said the entire process was conducted in a free, fair, just and verifiable process.

Charo appealed to all those aggrieved by the process to seek legal redress instead of causing unnecessary tension.

“We have been working together throughout the preparations, to the main general election, the tallying and we are now in the final process of declaring the winners, let’s not disintegrate the smooth process,” noted Mr Kalume.

Get busy

He appealed to the politicians to celebrate without necessarily insults those who did not sail into leadership.

“Do not forget that we are all winners, only that we need one MP at a time in this constituency, and after this election, we should all remain united as one community,” he told the politicians and their party agents.

He however, urged those who sailed into leadership to serve the community diligently and without discrimination.


Meanwhile, a total of 5 Members of the Mombasa county assembly have been elected.

Bernard Ogutu has retained his Changamwe Ward seat, same applies to Ibrahim Oyugi famously known as ‘Bomoa’ who also retained his seat but this time on an Independent ticket, Faith Mwende Boniface of Kipevu Ward was floored by Leyla Nyanche, Portreitz Ward MCA Fadhili Mwalimu Makarani who also served as the Mombasa County Assembly Deputy Speaker retained his seat.

Chaani MCA Junior Wambua was also been floored by the Union of Clinical officers Mombasa branch Secretary General Frankline Makanga.