Home News President Ruto names his 21-member cabinet

President Ruto names his 21-member cabinet

[Jovial President William Ruto with the new Chief Cabinet Secretary Musalia Mudavadi. Photo/ Courtesy/ Sept' 27, 2022].

President William Ruto on Tuesday named his cabinet secretaries minutes after meeting former cabinet secretaries at state house Nairobi.

In the list that also included special advisors to the cabinet, Amani National Congress (ANC) Leader Musalia Mudavadi was named the Prime Cabinet Secretary and the third most powerful official in Ruto’s government.

Mudavadi who was one of the key principals in the Kenya Kwanza Alliance will be required to assist the Presidency in coordinating ministries and state departments while working closely with the Ministry of Interior and Coordination of national government.

President Ruto also appointed Former Tharaka Nithi Senator Kithure Kindiki as the Interior Cabinet Secretary who will work in coordination with Mudavadi in the supervision role.

“He will oversee the implementation of national government policies programs and project,” President Ruto stated.

Mudavadi will also chair National government legislative agenda in all ministries and state departments in consultations with the party coalition leadership in both National Assembly and the Senate.

The ANC will also be mandated to facilitate inter-ministerial coordination of cross initiatives and programs and also supervise and coordinate the technical monitoring and evaluation of government policies and programs across ministries.

“He will also perform any other role as I may assign him,” President Ruto further disclosed.


Others in the list are Kandara Member of Parliament Alice Wahome who was named as the Water and Sanitation Cabinet Secretary.

The lawyer who was re-elected for a third term has been a close ally of President Ruto.

Following her appointment, a by-election will be conducted in Kandara Constituency to replace the MP’s position.

Also in the list are Cabinet include Njuguna Ndun’gu (Treasury) Alfred Mutua (Foreign Affairs) Aden Duale (Defense) Kipchumba Murkomen (Transport), Salim Mvurya (Mining), Eliud Owalo (ICT), Aisha Jumwa (Public Service), Moses Kuria (Trade) Florence Bore (Labour and Social protection), Rebecca Miano (EAC) Ababu Namwamba (Sports)

Meanwhile, Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen has been named the new Roads, Transport and Public works Cabinet Secretary.

Murkomen who is a close ally of President Ruto will now take over from James Macharia who served in the docket for the past decade.

Murkomen will now oversee major infrastructural developments in the country.

His appointments necessitate senatorial by-election in Elgeyo Marakwet county.

Murkomen is a lawyer by profession.