Home News Sports Kenya Railways “runs over” Amateurs to claim the 45th Kenya Amateur Strokes...

Kenya Railways “runs over” Amateurs to claim the 45th Kenya Amateur Strokes Play Championship

[KGU Chairman Njani Nderitu (middle), flanked by his officials among them Philip Ochola (right), Francis Wambua,Sammy Itemere,Ndiga Kithae,Moses Tanui and David Ndungu pose with overall winner John Lejirma before presenting him with a trophy in the end of the 45th Kenya Amateur Strokes Play Championship golf championship at Vipingo Baobab Ridge Golf Club house over the weekend.Photo/Pwani.Images]

Kenya Railway’s John Lejirma braved beat Amateurs to be crowned the 45th, Kenya Amateur Strokes play Champion.

This is after emerging as the overall winner in the four days tournament that ended at the par 72 Vipingo Baobab Ridge Golf Resort Course in Kilifi County on Sunday.

Playing against a tough challenging PGA-rated Champion course characterized by strong winds and tricky pin positions, Lejirma won on a round total 299 gross from a five over par 77 gross on Thursday, played a six over par 78gross Friday, then added a level par 72 gross on Saturday and the same on Sunday.

[KGU Vice Chairman and Tournament Director Philip Ochola (3rd right), flanked by his officials among them Chairman Njani Nderitu (middle) and Vipingo Ridge Officials, Richard Frost, Elizabeth Frost, Saleem Hajji and Naomi Wafula (left) gives briefs as a starter top-seeded golfers John Lejirma, Sammy Mulama and Issack Makhoha before they teed off from hole number one during the final day of the 45th Kenya Amateur Strokes Play Championship golf championship at Vipingo Baobab Ridge Golf Clubhouse over the weekend.Photo/Pwani.Images]

“It has been a tough four days in this challenging course but I am so happy to win today. This is one of the major events in the Country and I thank all the Organizers and fellow golfers, “said Lejirma.

Golf Park’s Sammy Mulama was second, tying with Vet Lab’s Isaack Makhoha after each ended with a round total of 309 gross.

The event’s Defending Champion and home player Adel Balala suffered a big blow finishing third on a round total of 310 gross ahead of Kenya National Golf team Captain Dennis who had a round score of 312gross.

The event was jointly sponsored by the Kenya Golf Union (KGU), Vipingo Ridge Golf Resort, Kilifi Mall, CIC Group, Betika.com, PharmaPlus, The Shoe Shine Guys, and the County Government of Kilifi

Out of the 76 Elite Amateurs drawn from various Clubs around the Country with Uganda and Tanzania players, 48 made the cut after the two rounds on Friday.

The Amateurs earned points to the Kenya Amateur Golfer of the year awards and the World Amateur Golf Ranking with the overall winner getting an automatic entry to the 2023 Magical Kenya Open.

On Saturday, a Subsidiary tournament was played with 65 golfers alongside the 48 Amateurs who playing their third round.
Was held with

Home Club’s handicap 18 Betty Bundotich emerged as the overall winner after finishing with a count-back score of 40 stable ford points to claim the title in the 18 holes stable ford tournament.

She had tied with second-placed handicap 25 Chris Wilson while handicap 27 Ushwin Khana was third with a score of 37 points.

The event was graced by among others the immediate Limuru Country and Country Club Captain and the Current Shinyalu MP Fred Ikana, Nyali Golf and Country Club Captain Zafir Din, Kenya Golf Union (KGU) Chairman Njani Nderitu, KGU Vice Chairman Philip Ochola and Samuel Losuron Poghisio, a former Majority Leader of the Kenyan Senate.
The Tournament Director and Kenya Golf Union Vice Chairman Philip Ochola thanked the hosts Vipingo Ridge for allowing the use of the golf course and maintaining the course in excellent shape including the technical team of referees led by David Kihara, David Ndung’u and Vincent Wang’ombe for preparing the course.

[KGU Vice Chairman Philip Ochola makes a swing to the second greens during the subsidiary tournament in the 45th Kenya Amateur Strokes Play Championship golf championship at Vipingo Baobab Ridge Golf Club house over the weekend.Photo/Pwani.Images]
KGU Chairman Njani Nderitu said the Union will continue supporting Golf in the Country and that it will also expose the qualifiers of the forthcoming 2023 Magical Kenya Open to International events before it kicks off.

John Lejirma (3)-299gross,Sammy Mulama (2)-309gross,Isaac Makokha (2)-309gross,Adel Balala (0)-310gross,Dennis Maara (2)-312gross,Jay Sandhu (1)-313gross,Michael Alunga (3)-313gross,Kdevin Juma (3)-314gross,John Timbe (4)-314gross,William Odeck (6)-316gross,

Meanwhile, at the Vet Lab Sports Club over the weekend, handicap 25 Chemutai Kenei carded 41 points to emerge the overall winner in the main event of the Lady Captain (Irene Kinyanjui).

The division one prize was won by handicap 20 Hellen Manyara with 37 points, while handicap 36 Anne Amran with 38 points and handicap 54 Wanjiku Mathu with 36 points were the Division two and three winners respectively.

Handicap 24 Ruth Omewansa who carded 37 points was the Ladies’ Guest winner as handicap 19 Parva Kihato claimed the Men winner prize after returning 35 points while the Professional winner on 67 gross was Mike Kisia and Isiah Otuke on 70 gross was the Runners up.

At the par 71 Sea Link, Mombasa Golf Course in Mombasa County, Major Epapra Lagat playing off handicap21 carded a countback score of 38 points to emerge the overall winner of the 2022 Maashuja Day Golf tournament.

He had tied with handicap 25 John Mugo who was the man-winner while handicap 19 Victor Simbi brought 37 points to win the runners-up slot and handicap 17 Anthony Kariuki was third on 36 points.

The Lady winner on 38 points was handicap 25 Susan Mwangi and the runner-up slot was claimed by handicap 13 Mary Mariga who had a score of 34 points.

The Guest prize was won by handicap 15 Emanuel Saina with 35 points handicap 38 Mesaidi Maarifa who returned a score of 43 points won the high handicappers prize.
Other results;
Friday Chairman’s Prize;
Man winner-Gerald Macharia-41points C/B, Runners up-Davies Maina-41points, Lady winner Nkini Pasha-39points, Lady runners up-Anne Mahinda-37points, Guest winner-Kent Njuru-45points, Guest runner up-Aisha Duba-40points C/B, Junior winner-Lyndon Darker-41points,
Saturday-Chairman’s Prize;
Overall winner-Grace Mayiani-44points (defending champion), Man winner-Chris Huka-41points, Runners up-D.G.Muriithi-40points C/B, Third-Henry Kithome-40points, Best Past Chairman-Eliud Njoroge-39points, Lady winner-Grace Gichuki-41points, Lady runners up-Maryanne Kilonzi-40points,
Lady third-Eunice Koome-39points, junior winner-Njukia Kihara-37points, Guest winner-Tim Kiburi-39points.